Motion Graphic Evaluation + Feedback

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 14.02.48.png

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 14.02.54.png

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I created my motion graphic using Adobe After Effects. For the first section of my motion graphic, I used a PNG as the background for the gallery setting. I then created 3 separate animations, which I then imported onto the gallery setting.  For the first ‘picture’ I had used my motion graphic to draw white lines onto the static image of the socket.

For the second picture I had used another static picture of a shoe which had been made by Michael Craig-Martin. I made a solid layer, and then with the pen tool, drew lines around the shoe image; I then went to effects and selected the Generate-Stroke effect and placed it onto the solid layer. This meant I was able to control the lines that I had made with the pen tool by manipulating the start and end values, to give the impression that the lines were moving.

I used this technique for the third picture to re-create using the Generate-Stroke tool on multiple lines using the pen tool.

Screen Shot 2017-01-10 at 13.49.25.png

FX = stroke typewriter

linear or non linear, narrative

This was the alternative ending to the motion graphic that I was going to use. I decided that using the curved motion paths for the lines do not relate to Michael Craig-Martins art style. Therefore I had used a different type of motion path, and had made the lines  straighter.

To animate the letters, I went to effects-Stroke Typewriter to give the impression that the words were being typed. The background also changes to colours that are featured in the works by Michael Craig-Martin.

Maya 3D element

Screen Shot 2017-01-11 at 12.43.32.png

I used Hypershade in order to get the model to have a glass look. I used a lambert to get the options of lowering the opacity and colour of the object.

Screen Shot 2017-01-11 at 11.30.27.png

Used a camera to track the cup inside of Maya itself , using keyframes and by pressing  ‘s’as a shortcut on the keyboard to keyframe the animation. I had animated the cup by using the camera to change its angle from side to side.

Screen Shot 2017-01-11 at 11.30.28.png

View through selected angle: helped to see what the camera angle would be in ‘real-time’.

Screen Shot 2017-01-11 at 11.06.18.png

Screen Shot 2017-01-24 at 12.36.03.png

I believe that my motion graphic relates to the artist of Michael Craig-Martin, as I have used various artworks of his, and have also animated them using various techniques such as using the paint tool to animate frame by frame on the first painting on the gallery wall. I have also used the stroke effect on straight lines in order for them to give the impression that they are moving. My 3D element fits with the context of the artist as I have modelled the glass cup on the piece of artwork that he made called ‘An Oak Tree’. My motion graphic resembles the motion graphic styles that I had researched such as the typography style and it also gives the viewer an insight into the artists work such as the paintings that the artist has created, and the colours that he features throughout his art.

All of the required information is present in the animation such as a 3D element which is the cup, and the details of the exhibition such as time,date, the artists name and place which is the Tate Modern.If I were to improve the motion graphic, I would have maybe made some of the motion graphic morph into another asset of the animation. This would change the look of the motion graphic to a more modernised look which would suit the artists artworks more. I also would incorporate more colour into the animation to be more eye-catching to the viewer. 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

