App concept development and moodboards

These are the sketches and the process in which my apps design will change as I get feedback and therefore change some elements which may not work together such as the colour scheme or layout options. The app is aimed at young adults from (16-25)  so the app will be informative about the weather and have a clean UI which will not clutter up the screen.

wweatherapp.png

 

 

A few moodboards

Untitled-1.jpg

Untitled-1.png

a.png

untitled-1

img026

img027

img029

img030

img031

img032

img024

img028

untitled-1

Screen Shot 2016-10-12 at 09.53.12.png

Screen Shot 2016-10-12 at 09.53.19.png

Screen Shot 2016-10-12 at 09.53.26.png

Screen Shot 2016-11-02 at 09.06.55.png

 

These are examples of colour schemes that I will use in my app. The colours relate to space themes and planets as they are made up of  more warmer hues. Purple, blue and grey especially link to space as they create a mysterious atmosphere. My colour scheme will be based off the last colour palette as it consists of purples,grey and blues.

appdesign.jpgimg036.jpg

img037.jpg

img039.jpg

img040.jpg

img041.jpg

img042.jpg

img043.jpg

This weekly forecast design is a bit bare as there is not that much information on it. The sun also does not fit the colour scheme as it is yellow and orange. Although I like the font as it is clean and fits the space theme. I will adjust the designs of the planets to fit the target audience and the overall look of the design.

app2.png

app4

 

app3

 

 

These are two versions of the same layout, to see which elements worked better. I think that the gradient one works better as it shows the time and degree symbol. The purple one is boring so nothing catches the users eye, which would not attract people to the app in the first place.

I have chosen this font for my app as its thin setting as its futuristic and clean looking, which makes sure it has a clean UI.

satun.png

When creating the weather icons I wanted them to all have a sense of continuity that links them together. In this case I have centered them all around a circle and making sure they are the same size. For the sun I used a grey colour as the feedback that I got from the previous sun design they thought that it did not fit the design as it was bright yellow, so I adjusted the colour scheme which I believe works much better.

satunn.png

njbz

ea

nn

I am pleased with the outcome of these designs to show more in-depth information about the weather, I believe the colours work as they cool toned colours which fit the space theme. I will develop these patterns to make them more planet-like.

h

hourr

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

sharedimage28

 

 

SharedImage[24].png

 

 

These are more planet designs. I have chosen the first moon as my final moon.

PLANET.jpg

PLANET.jpg

 

test2

This gradient is to show what the user will see when they ‘swipe up ‘ on the hourly view for the weather, so it shows more in-depth information about the weather which cannot be shown using a graph such as wind strength, moon phase and date.

 

 

 

 

 

Capture.PNG

 

 

 

Logos

These are some app logo designs which I think will be suitable to use as the final logo. The  design in which the cloud is pink and blue I think is the best design as it is clean and simple, and the planet is sized evenly inside the cloud itself. The final design will have lightning and rain drops to make it clear to the user that it is a weather app. I like the colours of the first design as well as it links to the space theme, as it is pink and purple.

capture

screen-shot-2016-10-19-at-10-27-51

screen-shot-2016-11-02-at-09-19-38

screen-shot-2016-11-02-at-09-19-43

 

After I got some feedback on the previous logo designs I decided to put a curved line on the Saturn planet to make it more obvious that it is a planet design. I put a cloud, lightning,raining and sun pictures in the logo to make it clear to the viewer that it is a weather app as it shows various weather conditions. I made the background a galaxy to show that it can show other planets that are in space. The colours of the background are the colour scheme that I have chosen for the app UI itself which consists of blue,gray and purple as it links to space colours.

logo

 

 

Planet designs

Each planet represents a different weather.

moreplanetdesign.jpg

 

moreplanetdesign.png

space

 

space2

menu.jpg

 

capture

 

capture

 

WEEKLYFORCAST.png

 

WEEKLYFORCAST.png

 

PROFILE.png

 

HOURLY.png

 

These are some of the final designs for my app. I have designed a hourly forecast menu, a weekly menu and the menu itself

 

 

 

appsss.png

hourly weekly profile .png

Final Colour Scheme

screen-shot-2016-11-09-at-10-08-12

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

