Motion Graphic Tests and Sketches

 

 

 

These are the tests that I have made to experiment various techniques that I will use for my final motion graphic. By experimenting these various techniques I can test which suit better for the final motion graphic.

Test 01

This experiment was made on After effects using the pen tool. I double clicked on the composition and then went frame by frame and drew a section on the jpg using the pen tool, and then played it at normal speed.


Test 02

After effects

New Composition

  • 25 fps
  • New solid layer-Background
  • New solid layer-floor
  • New Light Layer (Spot light)
  • 3D text
  • 3D light layer

The text is 3D in order to be able to cast shadows on from the light source. I used the light source also in 3D for it to be able to rotate and follow the text as it exits frame. I then key framed the light and text when it exits the frame and the light source when  following the text using the ‘x’ axis.

The floor layer was 3D and I used the rotate tool to move it to the bottom of the screen to be the floor.

screen-shot-2016-10-05-at-09-58-52

screen-shot-2016-10-05-at-09-58-43

screen-shot-2016-10-05-at-09-58-37


Test 03

I made this animation by using the same technique as before,  using a light source, 3D floor layer and 3D background layer. I used the paint effect by drawing paint lines onto the light bulb layer step by step, by clicking on the light bulb layer- making sure the light bulb layer is 3D.

Screen Shot 2016-10-05 at 12.01.19.png


Test 04

This animation was made by using new shape layers (rectangles)  the same colour as the blue and purple and having the text behind it so it gives the illusion that it is appearing out of nowhere. I then made a path for the text so then it travels across the screen onto the iPhone screen.

Screen Shot 2016-10-05 at 12.19.30.png

Screen Shot 2016-10-05 at 12.19.43.png


Test 05

This test was created using After effects. I made a mask using the pen tool. added a stroke in white and then duplicated this and changed the colours to pink and purple. I changed the end stroke from 0 to 100 so it would give the illusion of moving across the screen.The two other layers where moved so they would follow the other colours.

Capture.PNG


Test 06

nnkn

capture

I achieved this animation by using after effects, adjusting the end and start values. I made outlines of the text making multiple masks to create the outline 0f the ‘hello’. I used the keyframe assistant- easy ease, and also the reverse tool to reverse the animation.


Swinging text text

Capture.PNG

The swinging text was achieved making the text a 3D layer, and then setting the position on the Y axis so that the text cannot be seen. I then adjusted the rotation of the text so that it gives the impression of it swinging.  I will use this technique in the final motion graphic as I will  use it to advertise to the audience where the exhibition will be held.

Transition Test

capture

I created this transition using the linear wipe, and setting the wipe angle at  -50 degrees and adjusting the transition completion to 0%, then moving another keyframe and setting it to 100%. I copied the original layer and duplicated it changing its colour.


Text Experiment

This text was animated using the add-position – advanced- ramp up. While adjusting the offset. I added easy ease to it to make the movement smoother.

Development sketches and ideas

img046.jpg

 

img045

 

img047.jpg

 

img048.jpg

 

 

 

sharedimage2305843009213741004

These are some sketches of what I hope to include in the motion graphic. These are drawings of the various smaller animations that I will put in the motion graphic to make it more artistic. I will create it using my Wacom tablet and also the various shape tools on after effects to create these mini-animations.

capture

The font I will use is source sans pro on the light setting, I found that it is very modern and contemporary which links to the artist that I have chosen as the exhibition will be set in the Tate modern as well.

 

 

 

 

sharedimage37

Capture.PNG

The socket painting is what I hope to use in my motion graphic. I will use the paint tool on After effects to animate various paint paths surrounding the socket.

capture

Capture.PNG

capture

3D element of motion graphic

Michael Craig Martins most famous work is the ‘An Oak tree’ which is essentially a glass on a shelf in which he gives arguments to show that it is in fact an oak tree.

 

 

 

 

Untitled-2.png

This is an example of what the plant animation will look like coming out of the cup.   I made the animation on After Effects adjusting the start and end points of the masks.

I will make the tree as a mask so then I will be able to change the start and end values of the mask so that it will look like it is growing  out of the cup.

I made this animation using After Effects, adjusting the start and end values of the mask that I made using the pen tool. I traced over the ‘Greed’ typography from the artist that I have chosen  I like this effect and I therefore think I will use this technique in the final motion graphic to show the artwork of Michael Craig Martin.

https://thenounproject.com/search/?q=tree

motiongraphicidea.jpg

Screen Shot 2016-12-14 at 12.44.16.png

Screen Shot 2016-12-14 at 12.44.41.png

cirlce radius roughen edges

PNG of picture, with background coloured in so the ‘colour’ would only be seen inside the painting.

Screen Shot 2016-12-14 at 12.44.51.png

Leave a Reply

