Architecture Poster Evaluation

 

To create ideas of these posters I produced sketches of possible designs which I have uploaded on another post. All of the designs link to Scotland in one form or another as RIAS is a Scottish award, which showcases the best of Scottish Architecture.

Architecture-Poster-3

 

This is my chosen design as the architecture poster to advertise the RIAS festival in Scotland in 2016. This was produced  on Adobe Photoshop. This design is based off the outside windows of the Scottish parliament building in Edinburgh. This design is based on an well known, important building in Scotland because the RIAS award is an award for architecture only awarded to those buildings of Scottish heritage or importance. Ultimately this poster is to attract and advertise the RIAS festival to the majority of people possible. Thus I made this design so that it is recognisable as a part of the Scottish parliament building but has a modern flare to the design to promote the festival and this will help attract the young adult audience.To create this poster I used a picture of the outside of the Scottish Parliament of its windows as a base layer to outline as my poster is based on one of the windows. I used a grid (this technique was used widely in modernist posters) to help create structure and to make sure the design is in the center of the page.

I put the image of the window on a separate layer, and then on a new layer  the polygonal lasso tool was used to outline a section of the window. When the layer of the window had been created, I then switched to the brush tool and chose a colour from the colour selector. The brush tool was used to fill in the layer with the chosen colour. These steps were repeated  until I had created the full window of the building.I kept the ‘Festival of Architecture 2016’ logo the same original colour because I wanted it to stand out on its own, so I did not feel the need to adjust its colour to suit the purple in the poster.

 

layer

layers

The shadow effect of the window was achieved by duplicating the first layer of the window and then moving it adjacently to create a shadow impression as the duplicated layer is the same grey colour as the original layer.

 

Untitled-1These are the colours I used on my poster (shown on above),  I used a light grey, purple and a bright green in this poster design. These colours are muted, but I only featured the bright green in a small selection of the design because if I had featured a large percentage of the page to the green it would be overwhelming to the viewer as it is a very bright colour.

wp-1450360729058.jpeg

Originally the colours I had used were bright pink, bright blue, dark grey and bright green, (shown above ). I found that this colour combination did not achieve the effect I was going for as the bright colours were bold but  did not feel attractive, and I felt it would not attract a large audience . I also felt that the colours I chose where not attractive to the older audience and thus not attract the majority of visitors  and therefore the poster should have muted colours.

There was a use of a bright green as an accent in the poster. This was because the RIAS festival encourages the re-use of abandoned buildings and the economical value of historical buildings.  Green is a colour associated with nature, peace and is naturally calming. The green in the poster links to the re-use of redundant or historical buildings that the RIAS award encourages. The purple however is a colour associated with wealth and is dramatic  the atmosphere these colours create collectively is calming but also stands out which helps promote the festival to the audience.

It was decided to place the RIAS logo in the bottom right-hand corner as this is the place our eyes instinctively go to when we see any poster or any type of text. This is to establish the fact that this poster is architecture poster and also the festivals name. Any existing customers that have visited in the past would instantly recognise the logo.The grid was also useful in producing straight lines along the ‘steps’ as it showed if a line made was straight or not. This helped with the structural element of the design.

 


 

architectue-poster-2

This is the second poster that was created. The design is based on the Forth Bridge in Scotland. I chose to do this design as this bridge is used daily and is a part of Scotland’s culture. Therefore the design would be familiar to the Scottish community.

This design was made  on Adobe Photoshop, I also used a grid system to help with the layout of the triangle shapes. I found this technique very useful. Firstly using a  front perspective picture of the bridge as a reference, then on a new layer used the square tool to make a late rectangle that covered the A3 page and chose the colour of black so that it would act as a black background for the design.

On a new layer,  I traced the outline of one of the parts of the bridge using the polygonal lasso tool to make a selection , and then used the brush tool to colour in the selection white. The geometric shapes of my design link to the modernism art movement, in which these shapes where featured heavily. I would continue to use this process of using the polygonal lasso tool and then the brush tool for every triangular shape that was created. For every shape that was made, it was achieved by creating a new layer, so each shape was on a separate layer.

At one stage while creating this design, when I was using the polygonal lasso tool, it would not let me select the parts of the outline that I was creating. I then realised that the ‘snap to grid’ was ticked, this meant I had limited control over where I could select. I un-ticked ‘snap to grid’ which allowed me to make selections freely, thus improving my overall poster design.

Black and white are the only colours to feature in this design because the design is  eye catching to the target audience as the high contrast of black and white collectively create a stark contrast of colour which will intrigue the audience. To remove the purple background from the ‘Festival of Architecture’ logo, I used the magic wand tool and selected the font and the logo of the ‘Festival of Architecture’, then I switched to the brush tool and filled in the selection with the white colour.

 

 


 

 

Architcture-Poster-4

 

The final design created  was this poster. This poster is based on the Maggie’s Lanarkshire Building, Airdrie. This building won the RIAS award 2015. I wanted to have a design that featured a building that had won the RIAS award previously. This building has small square holes in its walls and this is what my poster features on it.

This poster was created on Adobe Photoshop. I also used a grid system for this design, to get the proportions of the squares correct and also to help the squares be in line with each other to create a sense of structure and order within my work. Firstly I used the square tool to create the background, by making a large rectangle that filled the page. I then used the colour selector to choose the colour for the background. I set the background to the back, using ‘layer’ ‘arrange’ and then ‘send to back’.

The use of the polygonal lasso tool  helped me make a precise selection of the squares that were featured on the building. Once this selection was made I used the brush tool to colour in the square. I did this multiple times all on separate layers until I had created all the squares.

Untitled-2The colours I used in my poster were a dark blue and a light purple . Blue is a complementary colour whereas purple is a secondary colour. There is a juxtaposition of a bright (purple) and dark (blue) colour next to each other meaning the bold colours are attractive and the most eye catching for the poster. The combination of the light and dark colours are aesthetically  pleasing to the eye, as the colours are not from two extremes of the colour spectrum.

To conclude, I chose to create these designs for the purpose of advertising the RIAS poster because the RIAS is an Scottish award that is only awarded to buildings of a Scottish background/heritage. I did not want to create a design of an world-famous building such as the Sydney Opera House in Australia because the RIAS award is ultimately Scottish and therefore I wanted to have a design that was linked to Scotland in a way that it would advertise the country as well as the Scottish community.

 

Word Count:1,498

 

 

Leave a Reply

